Driver Seat Neuroscience talks

The people who do the work tell the story



When: Tuesdays (17:00h CEST)

Where: Online

How: Join with zoom (630 8461 5083)

Costs: Free for all

Participation: Only if you want to

Updates: Contact us and we put you on our mailing list.


Follow us for latest updates on: @driverseattalks


Time

Alaska (AKST): 07:00h

Pacific (PST): 08:00h

Mountain (MST): 09:00h

Central (CST): 10:00h

Eastern (EST): 11:00h

London (GMT): 16:00h

Berlin (CEST); 17:00h

Lund (CEST): 17:00h

Beijing (CST): 00:00h


Lei Jin, Ian Wickersham Laboratory, MIT

Talk of the week: 31st of May 2022


The concept

We want to give the pepole who have driven the experiment a platform to present their work.


Have you ever been interested in the real story behind an article, including all the roadblocks and brickwalls? In our Journal Club-style presentation we invite the first authors of a recent article to present their work in a friendly environment and they can give a personal acount on the journey their study took. Furthermore, we provide a platform for the people who have driven the experiment to promote their own work and gain recognition by their peers. We have found that this exchange is an exellent opportunity for networking, troublehsooting, and for the fostering of new collaborations.


The format

In the weekly "Drivers Seat Neuroscience talks" the people that have driven a study will present their work in a Journal Club format. The idea is a 10-15 minute presentation going through a recently published article followed by a personal account of the main acheivements and struggles conducting the experiments that have lead to the publication. The presentation will include the main figures of the selected paper and conclude with a slide on the major roadblocks that were encountered.

The topics

Topics will be very varied, including neuroscience, from disease modelling, stem cells, gene therapy, to technological advances and everything in between. Should you have a suggestion for a speaker or are interested in presenting please email: admin@driverseattalks.com.